The College of Optometry would like to congratulate what may represent a record number of alumni who were awarded Fellowship status in the American Academy of Optometry at their annual meeting, held Oct. 11 – 14, 2017, in Chicago.  To receive the “FAAO” after your name requires acceptance of several case reports as well as an oral examination.  The honorees included Drs. Marie Wehner (’10), Nicole Pogue (’12), Rachael Canania (’14), Jenna Nelson (’14), Aaron Peterson (’15), and Clinical Assistant Professor Casey Hamm (’15).  What is especially impressive are two UMSL graduates who received fellowship little more than one year after graduation: Drs. Jessica Jose (’16), and Jamie Weiser (’16).  The Class of 2013 has rapidly become the class with the most number of fellows, as four more members received their FAAO in Chicago.  This group included Drs. Vanessa Avery (’13), Kevin Hoang (’13), Joshua Keil (’13), and Michael Martorana (’13).  Cornea and Contact Lens residency graduate, Dr. Carl Kramer (’16), also received his fellowship.

In addition, a record number of alumni attended what has become UMSL’s most popular alumni reception, held Friday evening in Chicago.

AAO1 web
(left to right): Drs. Sarah Burgett Rhoades (’11), Eric Harris (‘11), and Erin Brooks (‘11)
AAO2 web
(left to right): Drs. Courtney Kwan (’14), Rachelle Allstadt (’16), Shannon Niere (’16), and Nicole Ethridge (’16)
AAO3 web
(left to right): Drs. Vinita Henry, Chris Putnam, and Linda Marks
AAO4 web
(left to right): Drs. Courtney Kwan (’14), and Rachael Canania (’14)
AAO5 web
(left to right):  Drs. Mary Migneco (‘91), and Morris Lehrfeld (‘91)
AAO6 web
(left to right):  Peter Jacques (’19), and Drs. Kevin Hoang (’13) and Kate Boland (’02)
AAO7 web
The Class of 2013 had a great presence in Chicago. (left to right)
Drs. Sarah Rankin, Carrie Hartigan, Brigette Colley, Kevin Hoang, Rob Ensley, Amanda Nicklas, Trista Flunker, and Lacey Feezol
AAO8 web
At the AAO Cornea, Contact Lenses, and Refractive Technologies New Diplomate Reception (left to right): Dr. Ed Bennett, Dr. Rob Ensley (’13), Taylor Dahms (’18), and Dr. Carl Kramer (Cornea and Contact Lens Resident ’16)
AAO9 web
Taylor Dahms (’18) and Dr. Ariel Cerenzie (Cornea and Contact Lens Resident) pictured with contact lens icon, Dr. Donald Korb, and his wife, Dr. Joan Exford

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.